My Escape to See Maleficent (in theaters today)

Blog MaleficentMaleficent is out in theaters today and I simply had to take a break in my travels to see an early screening yesterday.  I was a little nervous about the movie.  In general, I prefer the Disney villains to the heroes and feel that they are mostly misunderstood rather than “evil.”  I was not sure how this latest movie would fit in with my perceptions.

I needn’t have worried.  This version of her story has interesting twists and turns giving her much more depth of character than even I had imagined.  She became someone with whom one could empathize without changing her completely from what we knew.   She is not, however, depicted as evil.

The special effects in the movie are quite a treat, especially in the moorlands.  The colors are vibrant and the animations work seamlessly with the live action.

I also have to say that I thought Angelina Jolie represented Maleficent well.  I wasn’t sure I could picture her as Maleficent even after seeing the previews and the sneak peak at Walt Disney World’s Hollywood Studios, but shortly into the film, I was convinced.

My only disappointment, and it is a minor one, is how they changed the three good fairies.  Flora, Fauna, and Merryweather have been replaced by bumbling Knotgrass, Flittle and Thistletwit.  They have such a small role in this film that the change didn’t make the film less enjoyable and actually, they were good for a laugh or two.  I guess my nostalgic side just missed the cute little Merryweather who was also bumbling, but in a more charming way.

Overall, it was definitely worth seeing and I will probably even go see it again.  Maybe next time, I’ll even try it in 3D or IMAX.

Have you seen it yet? What did you think?

#maleficent

6 thoughts on “My Escape to See Maleficent (in theaters today)

  1. Tina Martinez

    I too was concerned about Angelina Jolie, but she was Maleficent. I really enjoyed the movie and will be going again. When getting ready to see the movie I told myself that it would be totally different and only the names would be the same. The rest of the family may be treated to the 3D or Imax, we will see. Perhaps my movie buddy 😉 and I will see the 3D or Imax and we can take the family too. Thanks for the invite

    Like

    Reply
    1. kim051172 Post author

      I did go see it again. The preview was at a regular theater so I went to the IMAX to see it in 3D. I’d even go watch it again, which is interesting because I usually don’t like to see movies more than once.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Tina Martinez

    Took the family to see it Saturday – IMAX 3D, everyone loved it, even hubby who didn’t think he would like it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. kelsey1291

    I cant wait to see this. Your view on this movie is great, and now I really want to watch it. I wish my daughter was older, shes only into cartoons right now (shes 3).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

