Seeing a Historic City in a Historic Way

While in Philadelphia on business, I had a few hours break one afternoon.  Even though I had been to Philadelphia before, I had never seen the historic sites.  I walked to Independence National Historical Park with every intention of simply walking the sites when I saw a line of horses pulling carriages.  What better way to take in the sites and get some extra information from a guide?  I hired one and I was not disappointed.  Won’t you join me on a little photo tour?

Skywalker literally provided the "horse power" for my excursion while Tom, my guide (not pictured), shared interesting facts throughout the ride.

Skywalker literally provided the “horse power” for my excursion while Tom, my guide (not pictured), shared interesting facts throughout the ride.

I had a great view of Independence Hall.

I had a great view of Independence Hall.

Welcome Park is an open-air museum on the site of William Penn's residence from 1699-1701.

Welcome Park is an open-air museum on the site of William Penn’s residence from 1699-1701.

One can still dine where important historic figures like George Washington not only dined, but made important decisions about the birth of our country.

One can still dine at City Tavern where important historic figures like George Washington not only dined, but made important decisions about the birth of our country.

For much of the ride, I simply enjoyed being surrounded by historic buildings, beautiful gardens, and lovely parks.

For much of the ride, I simply enjoyed being surrounded by historic buildings, beautiful gardens, and lovely parks.

As my tour came to a close, I had a great view of the John Barry statue and the "rear" of Independence Hall, which is what is now pictured on the back of $100 bills.

As my tour came to a close, I had a great view of the John Barry statue and the “rear” of Independence Hall, which is what is now pictured on the back of $100 bills.

Leave a Reply

