Georgia Aquarium – A Day in Pictures

My family loves visiting aquariums so while traveling this week in Atlanta, we had to stop by one of the world’s largest, the Georgia Aquarium.  The variety of animals here is wonderful.  Plus, this is the only place in the Western Hemisphere that houses whale sharks!  They have four of these massive, gentle giants.  Stay tuned next Friday for a report on what it was like to actually get in the water with them.  In the meantime, I hope you enjoy these photos from the drier part of our day.

Who doesn't love otters?  These two were romping with each other. I think I could have watched them play all day.

Who doesn’t love otters? These two were romping with each other. I think I could have watched them play all day.

 

Speaking of watching things all day, I love penguins.  The aquarium has a pretty large penguin exhibit.  These guys were just hanging out, but there were plenty swimming around as well.

Speaking of watching things all day, I love penguins. The aquarium has a pretty large penguin exhibit. These guys were just hanging out, but there were plenty swimming around as well.

Also in the Cold Water Quest area near the otters and penguins were beluga whales.

Also in the Cold Water Quest area near the otters and penguins were beluga whales.

IMAG2089

To the best of my knowledge, this little guy isn’t pregnant. All the Big-Belly Seahorses looked this way!

To me, seeing weedy sea dragons are always a highlight of any aquarium visit. They are so unusual looking.

To me, seeing weedy sea dragons are always a highlight of any aquarium visit. They are so unusual looking.

IMAG2075

One would think a 9-foot manta ray would look huge and it did until we saw the giant in the next photo.

The Georgia Aquarium houses four whale sharks ranging in size from about 18 to 30 feet.  I had the opportunity to scuba with these amazing creatures and they even touched me.  I will chronicle my dive in a post next Friday.

The Georgia Aquarium houses four whale sharks ranging in size from about 18 to 30 feet. I had the opportunity to scuba with these amazing creatures and they even touched me. I will chronicle my dive in a post next Friday.

2 thoughts on “Georgia Aquarium – A Day in Pictures

  1. Kathy

    Would love to visit this aquarium. Have been to the ones in Tennessee and Seattle and loved them both. I wonder how they compare!

    Like

    Reply
    1. kim051172 Post author

      I haven’t visited the one in Tennessee, but I have been to the one in Seattle a couple of times and I like it, too. As I recall, it has more smaller exhibits while Atlanta has a number of smaller exhibits as well, but then the huge nearly 6.5 million gallon tank that houses the whale sharks and many other animals. To compare, the large tank in Seattle is 180,000 gallons so large, but much, much smaller than Atlanta. I hope you get a chance to visit someday!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

