The English Rose at The Rose & Crown

When visiting the pavilions around World Showcase in Epcot, I often wonder what people from those countries think of the Disney version. That’s why I was so excited to see today’s post from my friend Jane Duckworth. You see, Jane is English and her post is about her enjoyment of a drink at The Rose & Crown, the pub in the United Kingdom pavilion. (She’s also a Disney Parks Moms Panelist so a recognized Disney expert!) I asked her if it was OK to share it here and, being the sweet person she is, she said I could. I hope you enjoy her post as much as I did and check out more of Jane’s adventures at Jane’s World.

The English Rose at The Rose & Crown, by Jane Duckworth

It’s practically impossible for me to pass by the front door of my favourite hostelry in Epcot’s World Showcase; the mere sight, sound and smell of the traditional British boozer The Rose & Crown Pub & Dining Room in the United Kingdom Pavilion is just far too tempting…..

Ordering a little light liquid refreshment on a hot and sunny Florida day is such a delight, especially when it can be enjoyed in either what is arguably the World’s best beer garden or simply sat in a heavenly air-conditioned bar; the latter which is an absolute rarity here at home in the UK!

And what do I choose to quench my thirst? A beer? A cider? Nope, I prefer to bring a little colour to my cheeks by indulging with an English Rose cocktail!

Expertly shaken by friendly bartenders who bring together a potent mix of equal amounts of Beefeater Gin and Apricot Brandy, a splash of sweet Vermouth topped up with cranberry and pineapple juice and finally served over crushed ice. I know it sounds silly, but for me I always believe an English Rose tastes better when served in the very patriotic United Kingdom souvenir drinks mug.

I warn you, do not be fooled for a moment by the light and fluffy drinks title because The English Rose is no delicate flower and most definitely provides the drinker with a nice thorny kick – in fact enjoy a couple of English Roses and you might end up by not behaving like a lady at all!

For more tempting adult beverage ideas check out Motherhood & Beyond’s Disney Drink of the Day posts!

If I can help sprinkle any extra magic onto an upcoming trip to Walt Disney World Resort please pop over to visit me at The Disney Parks Moms Panel

The English Rose in full bloom...
The English Rose in full bloom… Photo credit: Motherhood & Beyond 

2 thoughts on “The English Rose at The Rose & Crown

  1. Pingback: The English Rose at The Rose & Crown | Jane's World

  2. Pingback: The English Rose At The Rose And Crown | Jane's World

Leave a Reply

