Do Flight001 Spacepaks Really Save Space in Luggage?

The Spacepak filled with clothes.

The Spacepak filled with clothes.

I’d seen several articles about how great Spacepaks from Flight 001 were for saving space in your luggage. Even CNN had an article listing them as one of the top 5 travel gadgets. With all that hype, I decided I had to try them for myself.

I purchased several sizes, but I was mostly interested in the clothing one. Because I have a trip to colder weather coming up, I figured I’d put it to the test. The first thing I noticed was that it didn’t look very big. Couple that with the fact that you’re only supposed to use half of it (there is one side for clean and one side for dirty); I was pretty skeptical.

The two pairs of adult size 14 jeans and seven large sweaters I packed.

The two pairs of jeans and seven sweaters that went into Spacepak. Jeans were adult size 14; sweaters were adult large.

First I folded two pairs of jeans in the way that they recommended and put them in the bottom.  Then I added four sweaters the same way. It seemed like I could fit more so I added another sweater, then another, then another until I had two pairs of jeans and seven sweaters stacked and I zipped it up pretty easily. Next, I did what I could to get the air out. I ended up setting the Spacepak on the floor in my bedroom and sitting on it. That squished the pack down to about 6 inches in height. Then I put it in my standard-sized carry-on bag, which is pretty small. To give you an idea, many roller bags that people think are carryons are actually too big to fit in the dimensions as set by most airlines. My bag does. The Spacepak fit exactly like it was supposed to with room left over. Even with all those clothes, I still had room for a couple of pairs of shoes, my laptop, undergarments, and toiletries.

Everything stacked in the Spacepak before zipping.

Everything stacked in the Spacepak before zipping.

After that, I took the clothes out of the Spacepak and put them in the suitcase to see how much room they took without it. As you can see in the photos at the bottom of the post, the stack of clothes is higher than the suitcase by a couple of inches. In measuring, the stack was nearly 9 inches in height so the Spacepak compressed them by about 2.5 inches, which is a lot of room considering that I’m trying to fit all of this in a small carryon. By keeping them folded the way Spacepak recommended, I saved even more room than I would have ordinarily and I considered myself an expert packer able to fit a lot of clothes in one bag.

With that, I have to say that the Spacepak did work as advertised. Did it compress the clothes more than they would have compressed just in my regular suitcase, however? I think so. In fact, I’m counting on it. That cold weather trip coming up? I need to fit 10 days of clothes, shoes, and other necessities in one bag so you can bet that there will be several Spacepaks in that bag.

The filled Spacepak inside my carryon. You can see it doesn't reach the zipper so I could lay things on top of it or have plenty of space to add items to the zippered pockets in the "lid." There is also still space for shoes and to fill the toiletry bag to the far right.

The filled Spacepak inside my carryon. You can see it doesn’t reach the zipper so I could lay things on top of it or have plenty of space to add items to the zippered pockets in the “lid.” There is also still space for shoes and to fill the toiletry bag to the far right.

 

 

The same clothes in the suitcase without Spacepak. They extend above the zipper line and also take up a little more space in the bag.

The same clothes in the suitcase without Spacepak. They extend above the zipper line and also take up a little more space in the bag.

One thought on “Do Flight001 Spacepaks Really Save Space in Luggage?

  1. Ainsley

    Thank you for passing about these. I’ve been wondering about them. I have a 10 day trip coming up with my 3 year old and wanted to only take one suitcase. Looking forward to trying them!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

