Great Britain Days 3 and 4

We visited some beautiful buildings with rich history. Check out my photos of Warwick Castle, Hampton Court Palace, and Westminster Abbey.

After a somewhat long bus ride, we arrived at Warwick Castle. This place is really cool. Not only is it an amazing castle, it's also steeped in history (just Google the Kingmaker, Earl of Warwick).

After a somewhat long bus ride from London, we arrived at Warwick Castle. This place is really cool. Not only is it an amazing castle, it’s also steeped in history (just Google the Kingmaker, Earl of Warwick).

Another great thing about Warwick Castle, they let you take photos inside! This is a view into the Great Hall from the walkway above. If you get a chance to visit here, be sure not only to tour the inside of the castle, but enjoy all the exhibits and gardens. I also want to go back to try "glamping," which is camping in their upscale tents on the property.

Another great thing about Warwick Castle, they let you take photos inside! This is a view into the Great Hall from the walkway above. If you get a chance to visit here, be sure not only to tour the inside of the castle, but enjoy all the exhibits and gardens. I also want to go back to try “glamping,” which is camping in their upscale tents on the property.

The following day, we visited Henry VIII's Hampton Court.

The following day, we visited Henry VIII’s Hampton Court.

I just love it when one is allowed to take photos inside. Can't you just picture Henry VIII eating his dinner with his court in this Great Hall?

I just love it when one is allowed to take photos inside. Can’t you just picture Henry VIII eating his dinner with his court in this Great Hall?

 

Even this early in the season, Hampton Court's gardens were impressive.

Even this early in the season, Hampton Court’s gardens were impressive.

 

My husband, parents, and I spent a long time exploring the Hampton Court gardens. I think I could have spent all afternoon. It was such a lovely day with a lovely view. One could easily forget they were inside a bustling London (although it was a bit outside the city and required a trip down the Thames in Henry VIII's day).

My husband, parents, and I spent a long time exploring the Hampton Court gardens. I think I could have spent all afternoon. It was such a lovely day with a lovely view. One could easily forget they were inside a bustling London (although it was a bit outside the city and required a trip down the Thames in Henry VIII’s day).

 

After Hampton Court, we traveled to Westminster Abbey. Photos weren't allowed inside so let me tell you, the outside has nothing on the inside! There is something to see everywhere you look. Keep in mind that many people were interred here so you will be walking on and among numerous graves, which sounds a lot more uncomfortable than it is. It truly is glorious. I bet photos wouldn't do it justice anyway.

After Hampton Court, we traveled to Westminster Abbey. Photos weren’t allowed inside so let me tell you, the outside has nothing on the inside! There is something to see everywhere you look. Keep in mind that many people were interred here so you will be walking on and among numerous graves, which sounds a lot more uncomfortable than it is. It truly is glorious. I bet photos wouldn’t do it justice anyway.

 

I did know before traveling to London that this tower isn't Big Ben, but it does house Big Ben, which is actually the bell inside the clock tower. What I didn't realize was how loud it is and how close the tower is to Westminster Abbey. I was actually standing next to the abbey taking this photo.

I did know before traveling to London that this tower isn’t Big Ben, but it does house Big Ben, which is actually the bell inside the clock tower. What I didn’t realize was how loud it is and how close the tower is to Westminster Abbey. I was actually standing next to the abbey taking this photo.

 

Leave a Reply

