Joy, Sadness, Anger, Disgust, Fear – What Were My Feelings on Inside Out?

Joy, Sadness, Anger, Disgust, Fear - What Were My Feelings on #InsideOut?I tried not to get too excited about going to see this movie. I generally love all Disney/Pixar movies, but this one seemed to have so much hype. I’d seen trailers, video and pictures from the “purple carpet” event, and tons of merchandise. I just didn’t want to be disappointed! Plus, the story line was just so different. Would I love it as much as the other Pixar greats like Toy Story and Finding Nemo?

I shouldn’t have worried. I wasn’t disappointed at all! In fact, it was so great I would go see it again.

My husband, son, and I went to a preview on Tuesday evening (June 16). Without going into too much detail (no spoilers here!), the story follows an 11-year-old girl, Riley, and the emotions in her head. There is Joy, Sadness, Anger, Disgust, and Fear. All take turns in headquarters at the control board giving Riley balanced emotions. Riley’s life is mostly filled with Joy and happy, yellow memories when her “outside” life is disrupted by a family move from Minnesota to San Francisco and her “inside” life is disrupted when Joy and Sadness are accidentally removed from headquarters. Anger, Disgust, and Fear try to find a way to make Riley happy without Joy. Meanwhile, Joy and Sadness must make their way back to headquarters through a maze of long-term memory and different islands of her personality including Family Island and Goofball Island enlisting the help of others they meet including Bing-Bong, Riley’s imaginary friend. What follows made me laugh, cry, and even fear a little for Riley and her feelings.

It wasn’t just me who thought it was great. My husband had been up since 1am and was sitting in a dark theater watching it until 9:30pm. I say watching it because he didn’t fall asleep. It kept his attention and he enjoyed it. He even talked about how good it was after and that’s a huge compliment, especially knowing he had to be back at work in just a few hours.

Even more telling, I took my 11-year-old son to see the movie. I watched his reactions. He didn’t take his eyes off the screen. Sometimes I even heard his reactions because he was laughing out loud. After the movie, he told me he was even afraid for Riley at one point. I asked him directly what he thought of the movie and his single word response? Great! Even two days later, he was still talking about how good it was. He wanted to know who my favorite character was. I told him Disgust because I thought she was funny. He told me his was Fear. He then had a lot of questions and comments about how things worked in the movie like the Train of Thought.

So, my feelings? Joy. Definitely Joy. This will be one yellow memory.

Inside Out is opening in movie theaters today. Check your local listings for showtimes.

Leave a Reply

