Planning to runDisney in 2016? An Overview of What to Expect

Planning to runDisney in 2016? An Overview of What to Expect

Welcome to this month’s Blogorail Red Loop. Today we are covering some runDisney topics including what you can look forward to in 2016.


If one of your resolutions was to get fit, I have found that there is no greater motivator for me than runDisney. I am not a runner, but the races are just so fun. Quite often, it feels like a moving party. There are great backdrops for photos, Disney characters, and even fellow racers dressed up all having a great time and adding to the party atmosphere.

In 2016, there are races themed to any Disney lover’s preference. My husband, a huge Star Wars fan, enjoys the Star Wars races, which debuted at Disneyland Resort last year. There are Star Wars characters chEARing runners on. Plus, new for 2016, runDisney has themed the Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend with the Light Side happening at the Disneyland Resort and added the Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend – Dark Side at Walt Disney World. Want to save the world? Then maybe the Avengers Super Heroes Half Marathon Weekend is for you. Love those Disney princesses? Then I bet you’ll love the Disney Princess Half Marathon Weekend. Desire a little wine to celebrate your finish? Then let the Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon Weekend fill your cup. I’m sure you get the picture.

Also new for this year is the debut of the Disneyland Paris Half Marathon. Why not couple your run with a trip to France? I know I want to.

Just like there’s a different theme for the race weekends, the races come in different lengths. Don’t think you have to start out with a Half or Full Marathon! Most race weekends also offer a 5K and a 10K. For children, there are also kids’ races. All races have finisher medals to show of your accomplishment!

Another change in 2016 for runDisney is the costume policy. While layered costumes such as Jedi robes and large costume props (I once saw someone dressed up as the Up house made of a cardboard box that went around their body with floating balloons attached) used to be allowed, they are no longer. The runDisney blog has full details on the new policy.

Red Carpet Minnie

New Balance runDisney Red Carpet Minnie

Of course, it wouldn’t be a new year without a new series of runDisney shoes from New Balance. For women, they’ve introduced an Ariel shoe expected to sell for $124.95 and a Red Carpet Minnie shoe for $139.95. For men, there is a new Dumbo shoe expected to sell for $124.95 and a Red Carpet Mickey shoe for $139.95. Dumbo and Ariel will also be available in kids’ sizes for $79.95. These shoes are only available at the Expo held during runDisney race weekends. At Walt Disney World races, go to the New Balance Virtual Queue to reserve a time to shop for these very popular shoes. At Disneyland races, there is no virtual queue. There may be an actual queue to get into the New Balance booth but at times, I’ve been able to walk right up and purchase what I wanted.

One thing that I don’t think will change in 2016 is the popularity of these races. Many races often sell out in minutes. A few tips to get a coveted spot? If you are able to register early (Annual Passholder, DVC member), then do so. Before registration day, register on Active.com if you have not already done so (it saves time on registration day). On registration day, log in 15 – 30 minutes before registration opens. Each person must register separately so be sure that each person is logged in on a separate device. Also be sure you have everything you need handy such as a credit card for payment, your race time (if you have one), and an emergency contact. Prior to the registration time, begin refreshing your screen until you are able to register OR you see that you’ve been placed in the queue. Once in the queue, do not refresh or you will lose your place in line. If you don’t get a spot or you missed a registration date? If you’re willing to do some fundraising, you can often still register through a charity. Each one has different requirements, but if you sign up with them and meet those requirements, you can register through them.

Of course, you have to know those important registration dates. The Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon Weekend registration will open at Noon Eastern on March 15, 2016 (race weekend is November 4 – 5, 2016). Registration dates haven’t been announced for the Disneyland Half Marathon Weekend or the Avengers Super Heroes Half Marathon Weekend, but you can sign up for an email reminder at the runDisney website. All other races are currently sold out, but as I mentioned, signing up through a charity may be an option.

Until then, here’s to a happy and healthy 2016 and let me know if you’re doing any runDisney races. Maybe I’ll see you there!

2016 runDisney Race Weekends:

January 6 – 10, Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend presented by Cigna (Walt Disney World)

January 14 – 17, Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend (Disneyland Resort)

February 18 – 21, Disney Princess Half Marathon Weekend presented by Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals (Walt Disney World)

April 14 – 17, Star Wars Half Marathon – Dark Side (Walt Disney World)

May 5 – 8, Tinkerbell Half Marathon Weekend presented by Pandora Jewelry (Disneyland Resort)

September 1 – 4, Disneyland Half Marathon Weekend presented by Cigna (Disneyland Resort)

September 23 – 25, Disneyland Paris Half Marathon Weekend (Disneyland Paris)

November 4 – 5, Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon Weekend (Walt Disney World)

November 10 – 13, Avengers Super Heroes Half Marathon Weekend (Disneyland Resort)

For more runDisney info, check out the other great posts from the Blogorail!


Here is the map of our Magical Blogorail Red | runDisney Loop:

13 thoughts on “Planning to runDisney in 2016? An Overview of What to Expect

  1. Pingback: What should I wear for my runDisney race? • Delightful Life

  2. baseballmickey

    I have to agree that runDisney is the reason I have taken up running as a hobby. It can be rather expensive, but I think it’s worth it.

    I’m looking forward to my upcoming runDisney races next month and again in April. Do you have a favorite race?

    Like

    Reply
    1. kim051172 Post author

      My favorite race was Expedition Everest. It wasn’t long, but I loved the puzzle and challenge portion. It just made it more fun for me. Plus, I loved hanging in Animal Kingdom after the race. No line for Primeval Whirl or Dinosaur? I’m all over that! Unfortunately, they don’t do that one anymore and I haven’t found one that stands out more than the others to be a favorite. I just like them all. How about you?

      Like

      Reply
  3. roemottola

    I think it’s fabulous that all of these folks have taken up running because of Disney. It’s one more reason to get fit, and it’s a great one! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Stacy

    I have only run in one Disney race so far, Mickey’s Jingle Jungle 5k 2013. This year I am running in the Star Wars 10K! I am excited that I got in, because I have missed out on other races due to them selling out so quickly. I am a casual runner and have only run 5Ks, but I want to run more, so I am looking forward to the 10K and I am hoping to get registered for the Food and Wine Half Marathon for November.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Jennifer Kaufman

    Excellent overview… and I wholeheartedly agree that runDisney races are the best motivation – especially for us non-runners! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Ashley Conner

    I was hoping to at least do one of these runs just once to say I’ve done it, but not this year 😦 but I just love reading your post about it! I’m hoping maybe next year to do the DISNEYLAND half marathon or any other one in Anaheim, I’m not a runner…at all but I know this would be so much fun to do and accomplish something like this!!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Pingback: runDisney Castaway Cay 5K - This Roller Coaster Called Life

  8. Pingback: Best Disney Songs for Your runDisney Playlist | Home is Where the Mouse is

  9. Pingback: Best Disney Songs for Your runDisney Playlist | Adventures in Familyhood

  10. Pingback: runDisney Tips and Advice - The Blogorail

Leave a Reply

