Jike is one of my top five go-to restaurants at Walt Disney World. What are the other four?

My Five Go-To Table Service Restaurants When I Waited Too Long to Make Disney World Dining Reservations

We’ve all been there. We either waited too long or just simply couldn’t get those coveted Walt Disney World Resort Dining Reservations at places like Be Our Guest, Cinderella’s Royal Table, Le Cellier, or Victoria & Alberts. What that has done for me, though, is made it so that I’ve tried some new places that are now on my favorites list.

Paradiso 37 at Disney Springs – I will admit it. The main reason I eat here is for the South American Crazy Corn. I love it. It’s fire-roasted corn on the cob with cheese. Super yummy! Anyway, the other food, which is a mixture of North American like South Carolina Style BBQ Pork Ribs and South American like Brazilian Cachaca Marinated Half Chicken has never disappointed my family. I also really love the Maduros (fried sweet plantains) and you can’t go wrong ending dinner with some churros.

Looking for a great Walt Disney Dining option and need last-minute reservations! Try Yak N Yeti and my other four faves!
Photo copyright Disney – used courtesy of Walt Disney World News

Yak & Yeti™ Restaurant at Disney’s Animal Kingdom – I ate here for the first time not knowing anything about the food or the menu, but because a friend recommended it based on an alcoholic beverage! I ended up really enjoying my meal so love to go back. The menu leans heavily toward Southeast Asian cuisine and it’s some of the best I’ve had. I especially love the Thai Chili Chicken Wings and I highly recommend the Chicken Tikka Masala.

Jiko – The Cooking Place at Disney’s Animal Kingdom Lodge – Having visited Africa, this restaurant took me back to a thoroughly enjoyed vacation. The cuisine has a South African flair with some Indian mixed in. I have so many favorites on this menu, it’s hard to choose. I do highly recommend starting any meal with the Taste of Africa, which is a selection of three dips and some house-made Naan to dip in them. They also have a great cheese selection and be sure to save room for one of the yummy desserts like the Valrhona Chocolate Mousse and Hazelnut Dacquoise Cake.

Liberty Tree Tavern at Magic Kingdom – This has long been one of my favorites and I go there regularly. There’s just something about it here that makes it feel like home. I think it’s perhaps the traditional American dishes like the New England Pot Roast or the Pilgrims’ Feast, which is turkey with all the trimmings. Being a huge fan of sticky toffee pudding from “across the pond,” I have found that the Ooey Gooey Toffee Cake is a must have for me.

My Five Go-To Table Service Restaurants When I Waited Too Long to Make Disney World Dining ReservationsRestaurant Marrakesh at Epcot – I saved my favorite for last. I now eat here on almost every visit to Walt Disney World. While dining, you’ll be entertained by traditional musicians and a belly dancer, which is way fun. For the food, powdered sugar on savory dishes sounded very strange to me until I tried it. Well, it still sounds strange, but I’ve found that it tastes really good. For those less adventurous eaters, there are options like kebabs and couscous, but I have found that I really love the Beef Brewat Rolls, a pastry filled with minced beef and eggs and sprinkled with cinnamon and powdered sugar. Get it in the Sultan Sampler so you can try several of the dishes and follow it up with the Bastilla, washing it all down with some mint iced tea and you’ll have my perfect meal.

Out of curiosity, I checked on reservations for a family of four for this Saturday and all five had availability just three days out! So, if you’re looking to eat somewhere on a last-minute visit or couldn’t get reservations at one of the really popular places, I hope you’ll give one of these a try. In fact, I hope you’ll give them a try even if you can eat at one of those other restaurants. I bet you’ll find a new favorite like I did!

One thought on “My Five Go-To Table Service Restaurants When I Waited Too Long to Make Disney World Dining Reservations

Leave a Reply

