A Taste of Disney at Home - Bananas Foster Angel Food Cake from Boatwright's Dining Hall. Easy recipe!!!

A Taste of Disney at Home – Bananas Foster Angel Food Cake

Welcome to this month’s Blogorail Teal loop. Today we are sharing Disney copycat recipes you can make at home.


In between trips to the Disney Parks, I go through Disney withdrawal. I’m not sure that’s a thing, really, but I do wish I was at the Parks! One of the ways I’ve found to beat those blues is to splurge once in a while and eat like I’m at the Disney Parks.

One of my favorite desserts is bananas foster. I love the tableside service at Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen at Downtown Disney at Disneyland Resort. Another fave was the Bananas Foster Angel Food Cake at Boatwright’s Dining Hall at Port Orleans – Riverside at Walt Disney World. I love this take on it. I love angel food cake and this is the perfect medium for the gooey bananas foster sauce. Unfortunately, it’s no longer on their menu so I can’t even get it at Walt Disney World anymore, but I found it’s pretty easy to make at home.

Bananas Foster Angel Food Cake

Get the recipe for this tasty treat from Walt Disney World - Bananas Foster Angel Food CakeSauce:
4 ripe bananas, peeled, sliced in half lengthwise, then cut into 1-inch pieces (on a diagonal makes them look fancier)
2 T. water
4 T. butter
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 T. cinnamon
2 T. banana liqueur (I use banana schnapps)
1/4 c. dark rum (gold rum works, too)

After slicing the bananas, top with the 2 T. water and set aside. Melt butter in a heavy skillet over medium heat. Add sugar and cinnamon and cook, stirring until sugar is almost dissolved (it will be thick). This takes about 2 minutes. Add the banana liqueur (mixture will bubble). Carefully add the rum. Due to the heat from the pan, the rum will flame up, burning the alcohol off (making this recipe kid-friendly), then die out. Add the bananas and water to the skillet, turning the bananas regularly as the liquid caramelizes. Remove from heat, but keep warm until ready to serve.

Mint Simple Syrup:
3 T. fresh mint, finely chopped (I use a knife, but a blender or food processor would work)
3/4 c. water
Love Bananas Foster Angel Food Cake from Boatwright's at Walt Disney World? Here's a recipe to make it at home.3/4 c. sugar

Bring water to a boil in a small pot. Remove from heat. Add the mint and steep for 10 minutes. Pour liquid through fine mesh strainer, cheese cloth, or similar (I used a coffee filter over a cup). Keep the water, discard the mint. Bring the water back to a boil and add the sugar. Boil until all the sugar is dissolved, leaving just a thin syrup (about 3 minutes). The syrup has a yellow-brown tint to it, which is normal.

To Serve:
Angel food cake (I make mine, but store-bought works, too)
Vanilla ice cream
Sauce (recipe above)
Mint simple syrup (recipe above)
Fresh mint sprigs

Check out my homemade version of the Bananas Foster Angel Food cake from Boatwright's Dining Hall at Port Orleans, Walt Disney WorldPut one or two slices of angel food cake in a bowl. Add a scoop of vanilla ice cream to one side. Pour syrup with bananas over the cake. Drizzle the mint simple syrup over the ice cream. Garnish the ice cream with a sprig of mint. Makes 6 small or 4 large servings.

This is a very quick dessert to make, but if you want to make any components ahead, I’ve found that the simple syrup keeps very well. I keep it in an airtight container in the refrigerator. It can be used straight from the refrigerator as well. The sauce WITHOUT the bananas can also be made ahead. I let it cool, put it in an airtight container, and keep it in the refrigerator. When ready to construct the dessert, I microwave it for 30 seconds to soften it (it will be hard) and then spoon it back into a skillet (it will be thick like paste), let it warm up and then add the bananas and water. I have also saved “leftover” sauce with the bananas in the refrigerator. It still tastes the same reheated, but the bananas get a little mushy, which is why I don’t recommend making it with them ahead of time.

After you’ve tried the original recipe, I highly recommend changing it up. I especially like to change the rum. I’ve used coconut rum and spiced rum, both of which were good. I’ve also added fresh strawberries, which was great as well.

I hope you enjoy!

P.S. To my family and friends – Yes, I really did make this. I even made the angel food cake AND it is delicious. 🙂 To everyone else – I don’t really cook. That should tell you how easy this is to make!


Here is the map of Magical Blogorail Teal | Disney Copycat Recipes Loop:

8 thoughts on “A Taste of Disney at Home – Bananas Foster Angel Food Cake

  1. Pingback: Cars Land Churro Bites (Copycat Recipe) - loveourcrazylife

  2. Pingback: Disney Dining at Home: Puffed French Toast

  3. Pingback: Casey's Corner Corn Dog Nuggets Copycat Recipe

  4. Pingback: Disney Copycat Recipes

  5. Rosanne Mottola

    Yum, this looks delicious! 🙂 I love both of these items, so I may give this a try. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to experience the real thing. This looks like the second best option though.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Mary at Capturing Magical Memories

    I had not seen this on the menu at Boatwrights and I feel like I missed something awesome. I am definitely giving this a try at home.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

